Master of Architecture - 2018

Postgraduate - Course

Commencement year

This course entry applies to students commencing this course in 2018 and should be read in conjunction with information provided in the 'Faculty information' section of this Handbook by the Art, Design and Architecture.

Other commencement years for this course: 2017 and 2016

Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.

Course code


Credit points


Abbreviated title




Managing faculty

Art, Design and Architecture


Mr Ross Brewin

Admission and fees


Course progression map

F6001 (pdf)

Course type

Master by coursework

Standard duration

2 years FT

Students have a maximum of 5 years to complete this course including any periods of intermission and suspension, and must be continuously enrolled throughout.

Mode and location

On-campus (Caulfield)


Master of Architecture


The Master of Architecture offers a coursework postgraduate program of education in the discipline of architecture and provides the second of two degrees required for professional registration. The academic program focuses on research-led architectural design teaching and learning through advanced studios and depth-unit architectural studies electives.


These course outcomes are aligned with the Australian Qualifications Framework level 9 and Monash Graduate AttributesAustralian Qualifications Framework level 9 and Monash Graduate Attributes (

Upon successful completion of this course it is expected that students will be able to:

  1. acquire and apply the knowledge and range of skills necessary to become a professional architect according to the national accreditation bodies
  2. integrate knowledge and skills in the design and communication of architectural projects
  3. contribute to the built environment with responses sensitive to their environmental, technical, social and cultural contexts
  4. work and communicate with multi-disciplinary teams in international contexts responsive to local cultures and conditions
  5. critically assess international architectural discourses and practices and contribute to advancing design research.

Professional recognition

The course is accredited by Architects' Accreditation Council of AustraliaArchitects' Accreditation Council of Australia ( (AACA).

Australia is a signatory to the Canberra Accord which recognises the substantial equivalency of accreditation or validation systems in architectural education of the following agencies or organisations:

  • Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA)
  • Canadian Architectural Certification Board/Consiel canadien de certification en architecture (CACB-CCCA)
  • Acreditadora Nacional de Programas de Arquitectura y Disciplinas del Espacio Habitable/Comite para la Practica Internacional de la Arquitectura (ANPADEH/COMPIAR)
  • Korea Architecture Accrediting Board (KAAB)
  • National Architecture Accrediting Board (NAAB) (U.S.)
  • The National Board of Architectural Accreditation of China (NBAA)
  • The Royal Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA)

In addition to this, Monash's Master of Architecture is recognised in Malaysia by the Board of Architects MalaysiaBoard of Architects Malaysia ( and Singapore by the Singapore Board of ArchitectsSingapore Board of Architects (

Upon completion of both F2001 Bachelor of Architectural Design and M6001 Master of Architecture, you will have achieved the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) National Competency Standards applicable to university courses and will comply with the Royal Australian Institute of Architecture (RAIA) Education Policy Performance Criteria. After starting your career you will need two years professional practice before you can sit the exam to register as an architect. Outside of Australia, graduates should confirm local requirements for registration with the relevant organisation/s.


The course is structured in three parts.

Part A. Advanced architecture and design studios

These studies will focus on advanced concepts and skills relevant to architecture design. Through project-based studio classes you will gain exposure to leading design practices. In conjunction with studios, you will select from a range of advanced architecture studies units, which are complementary depth units. These will introduce you to the methods and tactics of architectural design research and engage with the multidisciplinary socio-cultural, political, economic, historical, theoretical and technical dimensions relevant to architecture and urbanism. Studies culminate in the final year in a self-directed project.

Part B: Professional practices

These studies focus on the core business and regulatory aspects of practice as an architect within the context of multi-disciplinary collaborations and evolving construction methods and practices.

Part C. Electives

These studies provide complementary depth units and enable you to tailor your studies to individual interests. You may select units from either architecture-specific advanced architecture studies depth units or other units offered by the University.


Students complete 96 credit points as specified in Part A, Part B and Part C, including a minimum of 48 credit points at level 5. In addition, students must complete OHS1000 (Introduction to art and design health and safety) (0 points) if not previously completed.

The course progression mapcourse progression map ( will assist you to plan to meet the course requirements, and guidance on unit enrolment for each semester of study.

Units are 6 points unless otherwise stated.

Part A: Advanced architecture studies (66 points)

Students complete:

  • ARC4001 Advanced architecture project 1 (12 points)
  • ARC4002 Advanced architecture project 2 (12 points)
  • ARC4502 Advanced architecture studies 2
  • ARC5001 Advanced architecture project 3 (12 points)
  • ARC5501 Advanced architecture studies 3
  • ARC5002 Final architecture project (18 points)

Part B: Professional practices (12 points)

Students complete:

  • ARC4101 Integrated project - technologies, environments and professional practices
  • ARC5201 Professional practices

Part C: Electives (18 points)

Students complete units to 18 points chosen from the following, including at least one (6 points) at level 5:

  • ARC4501 Advanced architecture studies 1
  • ARC5502 Advanced architecture studies 4 or an open elective at level 5
  • any unit from across the University in which you are eligible to enrol

Units can be identified using the browse unitsbrowse units ( tool and indexes of unitsindexes of units ( in the current edition of the Handbook. The level of the unit is indicated by the first number in the unit code. You may need permission from the owning faculty to enrol in some units.

Progression to further studies

Students who complete the Master of Architecture with H2A equivalence will be eligible to apply for course 1322 Doctor of Philosophy.