Skip to content | Change text size

print version

Monash University

Monash University Handbook 2010 Postgraduate - Course

This course entry should be read in conjunction with information provided in the 'Faculty information' section of this Handbook by the Faculty of Information Technology

Managing facultyInformation Technology
Abbreviated titlePGradDipIT
CRICOS code032374E
Total credit points required48
Standard duration of study (years)1 year FT, 2 years PT
Study mode and locationOn-campus (Caulfield)
Contact details

Contact information is available at:

Course coordinator

Dr Chris Ling (Caulfield)


The Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology (PGradDipIT) is a course is intended for those with a previous undergraduate qualification in in IT such as computing, computer science or a technical information technology field. It provides a broad program in information technology, enabling students to select specific areas for in-depth study, or to construct a program from a range of suitably advanced units.


The objectives of the Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology are to:

  • provide students with knowledge and understanding of fundamental principles in the disciplinary areas that underpin the information technology field
  • provide students with knowledge, understanding and experiences that transcend technologies and are robust over time so that students are well placed to deal with ongoing, rapid changes in the information technology field
  • and to develop students' understanding of significant areas of information technology to a level of depth and sophistication consistent with senior professional practice.

Professional recognition

This course has been designed for accreditation by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) as meeting the standard of knowledge for associate-level membership.


This course consists of eight approved masters level units (48 points).


Students can choose units from all specialisations listed below to meet the course requirement. Where all the units in a specialisation are successfully completed by a student, the specialisation will be identified on the student's academic transcript.

Areas of Study


Students complete:

(i) at least six, level-five MIT units (36 points) chosen from the list below

(ii) up to two elective units (12 points) approved by the course coordinator.

MIT units and specialisations

Data management

  • FIT5043 Distributed database
  • FIT5059 Advanced programming for database applications
  • FIT5166 Information retrieval systems
  • FIT5168 Object and semi-structured database

Digital communication*

  • ECE5012 Applied digital signal processing
  • FIT5012 Data compression techniques
  • FIT5162 Digital communications software
  • FIT5173 Digital communications technology and protocols

Distributed and mobile systems

  • FIT5031 Mobile software agents
  • FIT5046 Mobile and distributed computing systems
  • FIT5164 GRID computing
  • FIT5170 Programming for distributed, parallel and mobile systems

Intelligent systems

  • FIT5045 Knowledge discovery and data mining
  • FIT5047 Intelligent systems
  • FIT5167 Natural computation for intelligent systems
  • FIT5169 Probabilistic expert systems

Internet and web application development

  • FIT5030 Web services and service oriented computing
  • FIT5032 Internet applications development
  • FIT5041 Component technology for internet applications
  • FIT5042 Enterprise application development for the web

Multimedia systems*

  • FIT5012 Data compression techniques
  • FIT5015 Advanced programming for multimedia entertainment
  • FIT5084 Multimedia authoring and animation
  • FIT5165 Human-computer interaction for multimedia applications

Network computing

  • FIT5010 Advanced internet protocols and applications
  • FIT5011 Advanced network design and performance
  • FIT5034 Network administration and management
  • FIT5083 Wireless networks


and any two from the following:

Software engineering

  • FIT5030 Web services and service oriented computing
  • FIT5164 GRID computing
  • FIT5171 System validation and verification, quality and standards
  • FIT5174 Parallel and distributed systems

All units are offered on-campus.

* Specialisation not available in 2010.

Not all units are available in any one year.

MIT elective units

Enrolment in electives in the MIT program requires the approval of the course coordinator. Electives may be taken from postgraduate level units offered by the Faculty of Information Technology or from any other faculty of the University.

Progression to further studies

Students who complete the postgraduate diploma and wish to undertake further studies will be granted up to 24 points of credit in the Master of Information Technology program. The number of points subsequently required to complete the masters will depend on the units taken within the postgraduate diploma.

Alternative exit(s)

Students wishing to exit the Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology early may apply to graduate with the Postgraduate Certificate in Information Technology after successful completion of 24 points of study.


Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology