Skip to content | Change text size

print version

Monash University

Monash University Handbook 2010 Postgraduate - Course

This course entry should be read in conjunction with information provided in the 'Faculty information' section of this Handbook by the Faculty of Information Technology

Managing facultyInformation Technology
Abbreviated titleMIT
CRICOS code030611B
Total credit points required72
Standard duration of study (years)1.5 years FT, 3 years PT
Study mode and locationOn-campus (Caulfield)
Contact details

Contact information is available at:

Course coordinator

Dr Chris Ling (Caulfield)


  • Students have a maximum of five years to complete the requirements of the course.


The Master of Information Technology (MIT) is part of a program comprising three degrees: Master of Information Technology, Master of Information Technology Professional and Master of Information Technology (Honours).

The Master of Information Technology is a broad, flexible program for students who have a first qualification in a technical information technology field.

Nine specialisations are offered within the degrees, although not all specialisations may be offered in any one year.


The objectives of the Master of Information Technology are to:

  • provide students with knowledge and understanding of fundamental principles in the disciplinary areas that underpin the information technology field
  • provide students with knowledge, understanding and experiences that transcend technologies and are robust over time so that students are well placed to deal with ongoing, rapid changes in the information technology field
  • develop students' understanding of significant areas of information technology to a level of depth and sophistication consistent with senior professional practice
  • enable students to complement their detailed studies of significant areas of information technology with elective study from a wide range of disciplines.

Enrolment prior to 2009

Students who commenced this course in prior to 2009 should refer to the course structure in the course entry in the 2008 handbook at

Professional recognition

This course has been accredited by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) as meeting the standard of knowledge for professional-level membership.


This course consists of 12 approved masters level units (72 points).


Students can choose units from all specialisations listed below to meet the course requirement. The transcripts will indicate students' specialisation(s) if they meet the requirement of the specialisation(s).

Areas of Study


Students complete:

(i) at least eight, level-five MIT units (48 points) chosen from the list below

(ii) up to four elective units (24 points) approved by the course coordinator.

Subject to approval of the course coordinator, students may take FIT4005 IT Research methods and a 24-point minor thesis if they have achieved a distinction average or better in four, level-5 units.

MIT units and specialisations

Data management

  • FIT5043 Distributed database
  • FIT5059 Advanced programming for database applications
  • FIT5166 Information retrieval systems
  • FIT5168 Object and semi-structured database

Digital communication*

  • ECE5012 Applied digital signal processing
  • FIT5012 Data compression techniques
  • FIT5162 Digital communications software
  • FIT5173 Digital communications technology and protocols

Distributed and mobile systems

  • FIT5031 Mobile software agents
  • FIT5046 Mobile and distributed computing systems
  • FIT5164 GRID computing
  • FIT5170 Programming for distributed, parallel and mobile systems

Intelligent systems

  • FIT5045 Knowledge discovery and data mining
  • FIT5047 Intelligent systems
  • FIT5167 Natural computation for intelligent systems
  • FIT5169 Probabilistic expert systems

Internet and web application development

  • FIT5030 Web services and service oriented computing
  • FIT5032 Internet applications development
  • FIT5041 Component technology for internet applications
  • FIT5042 Enterprise application development for the web

Multimedia systems*

  • FIT5012 Data compression techniques
  • FIT5015 Advanced programming for multimedia entertainment
  • FIT5084 Multimedia authoring and animation
  • FIT5165 Human-computer interaction for multimedia applications

Network computing

  • FIT5010 Advanced internet protocols and applications
  • FIT5011 Advanced network design and performance
  • FIT5034 Network administration and management
  • FIT5083 Wireless networks


and any two from the following:

Software engineering

  • FIT5030 Web services and service oriented computing
  • FIT5164 GRID computing
  • FIT5171 System validation and verification, quality and standards
  • FIT5174 Parallel and distributed systems

All units are offered on-campus.

* Specialisation not available in 2010.

Not all units are available in any one year.

MIT elective units

Enrolment in electives in the MIT program requires the approval of the course coordinator. Electives may be taken from postgraduate level units offered by the Faculty of Information Technology or from any other faculty of the University.

Progression to further studies

Graduates of the MIT will not automatically qualify for entry into a PhD program. High performing students may study a minor thesis and with appropriate grades they could progress to a research degree through the Monash Research Graduate School H1 equivalence process.

Alternative exit(s)

Students wishing to exit the Master of Information Technology early may apply to graduate with the:

  • Postgraduate Certificate in Information Technology after successful completion of 24 points of study
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology after successful completion of 48 points of study

provided they have satisfied the requirements for these awards.


Master of Information Technology