Skip to content | Change text size
Handbooks Courses Units
Monash University

Master of Network Computing

Course code: 2876 ~ Course abbreviation: MNetComp ~ Total credit points required: 72 ~ 1.5 years full-time, 3 years part-time ~ Managing faculty: Information Technology

Study mode and course location

On-campus (Caulfield)

Course description

The course aims to provide students with a first degree in a related discipline with the necessary knowledge, understanding, skills and attitudes to enable them to analyse a wide variety of information processing problems and to develop solutions to these using distributed systems and computer networks.

This course is intended for those with a previous qualification in a related discipline, to extend their information technology knowledge.

Course objectives

On completion of the course, students will: have a well-developed conceptual framework, enabling them to keep pace with developments in the rapidly changing field of network computing; have a thorough understanding of one or more specialised areas of study within network computing; be familiar with using current technology, systems and software relevant to network computing; be able to practice professionally as a network computing specialist.

Credit for prior studies

Generally, students who have completed similar units in previous studies will normally be required to make substitutions. Specified credit will only be granted for postgraduate units that have not counted for the award of any other degree or diploma. Where credit is granted, the number of credit points that may be counted towards the MNetComp on the basis of study completed in units offered by faculties other than the Faculty of Information Technology may be reduced. Students who complete the Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology offered by Monash University will be granted up to 24 points of credit towards the MNetComp.

Course structure

Course requirements

Students complete 72 points of study, of which six or 12 points may be taken as a project, or 24 points may be taken as a minor thesis. All other points are taken in fourth and fifth-level units (all of 6 points value). Of the 72 points, at least 24 must be taken at level 5. Although this degree is offered by the Caulfield School of Information Technology, up to 24 points may be taken in units offered by other academic units within the Faculty of Information Technology. Of these 24 points, up to 12 points may be taken from graduate units offered by other faculties of Monash University with the approval of the course leader. Twelve points may be taken from 9000 level units with the approval of the course coordinator.

There are no core units. Students may select their units from the following list, provided the program of studies conforms to the requirements given above:

  • CIS4881 Internetworking 1
  • CIS4885 Internetworking 2
  • CPE4001 Distributed programming in Java
  • CPE4004 Analysis and design of distributed information systems
  • CPE5002 Network security
  • CPE5006 Virtual private networks
  • CPE5009 Internet devices and services
  • CPE5010 Mobile software agents
  • CPE5011 Internet applications development
  • CPE5013 Network administration
  • CPE5021 Advanced network security
  • CPE5100 Reading unit in network computing
  • CPE5501 Network computing project part A
  • CPE5502 Network computing project part B
  • CPE9001 Java programming
  • CPE9005 Web development
  • CSE5000 Distributed object technology
  • CSE5060 Multimedia applications on the web
  • CSE5200 Distributed database systems
  • CSE5210 Advances in information security
  • CSE5501 Mobile and distributed computing systems
  • FIT5010 Advanced internet protocols and applications
  • FIT5011 Advanced network design and performance
  • FIT5092 e-Business

Exit awards

Students wishing to exit the Master of Network Computing early may apply to graduate with the:

  • Postgraduate Diploma in Network Computing after successful completion of 48 points of study, or
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology after successful completion of 48 points of study in network computing units,

provided they have satisfied the requirements for these awards.

Professional recognition

This course is accredited by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) as meeting the standard of knowledge for professional-level membership.

Contact details

Course coordinator

Dr Campbell Wilson