Monash University

Honours - Area of study

Students who commenced study in 2013 should refer to this area of study entry for direction on the requirments; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your area of study.

print version

Managing facultyFaculty of Arts
Offered bySchool of Applied Media and Social Sciences
School of Political and Social Inquiry
Campus(es)Caulfield, Clayton, Gippsland


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.
  • The units available differ between campuses. Refer to the individual campus entries below. Also available via off-campus learning (Gippsland only).


Students are required to complete 48 points of study comprising a thesis and two coursework units.

The coursework units and the thesis topic are chosen in consultation with the sociology honours coordinator.


Caulfield and Clayton


Students complete one of the following options:

  • ATS4923 PSI honours thesis (24 points)
  • ATS4925 PSI honours thesis A (12 points) and ATS4926 PSI honours thesis B (12 points)

Coursework units

Students complete the following unit:

  • ATS4924 PSI honours research methodology

plus one of the following elective units:

  • APG4681 Qualitative research strategies
  • APG4684 Analysing quantitative data

Gippsland, Off-campus


Students complete the following two units:

Coursework units

Students complete the following two units:

  • ATS4677 Theory and practice in sociology
  • ATS4807 SAMSS selected topics in theory and practice

Contact details

Relevant courses

  • 0003 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts
  • 0082 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws
  • 4090 Honours Degree of Bachelor of Arts and Social Sciences