Monash University

Undergraduate - Course

Students who commenced study in 2015 should refer to this course entry for direction on the requirements; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your course.

print version

This course entry applies to students commencing this course in 2015 and should be read in conjunction with information provided in the 'Faculty information' section of this Handbook by the Faculty of Business and Economics.

If you are seeking to commence your studies in 2016, please visit our new Find A Course for 2016.

Course code4428
Managing facultyBusiness and Economics
Abbreviated titleBComScholPrg/BEc
Total credit points required192
Standard duration of study (years)4 years FT

Full-time study only. Students have a maximum of 10 years to complete this course.

Study mode and locationOn-campus (Clayton)
Admission, fee and application details
Contact details


Course coordinator

Dr Ross Booth


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.
  • This course is not available to international student visa holders.


This double degree provides professional education in a range of commerce disciplines, with a strong emphasis on developing analytical skills. It allows the student increased breadth and depth in the major discipline areas, plus considerable opportunity for studies from other faculties.


Refer to the outcomes for the single degrees 4419 Bachelor of Commerce Scholars Program and 0023 Bachelor of Economics.

Professional recognition

Refer to the faculty's Professional recognition of coursesProfessional recognition of courses ( page in this Handbook.


This course consists of:

  • a set of core units which provide an introduction to the key areas of commerce
  • a set of compulsory units which provide an introduction to the key areas of economics
  • an eight-unit commerce major
  • an eight unit major in either actuarial studies, economics, econometrics and business statistics or financial and insurance mathematics
  • eight free electives.


Students must complete 32 units as follows:

(a.) 24 units (144 points) from the Faculty of Business and Economics in the Bachelor of Commerce at the Clayton campus as follows:

(i.) six core units (36 points):

  • ACC1000 Principles of accounting and finance
  • BTC1110 Business law
  • ECC1000 Principles of microeconomics
  • ETC1000 Business and economic statistics
  • MGC1010 Introduction to management
  • MKC1200 Principles of marketing

(ii.) a further four compulsory units (24 points):

  • ECC1100 Principles of macroeconomics
  • ECC2000 Intermediate microeconomics
  • ECC2010 Intermediate macroeconomics
  • ETC1010 Data modelling and computing

(iii.) a major of eight units from the Bachelor of Commerce (48 points):*

  • the major must come from the approved list of commerce majors above listed under 'Areas of study'
  • at least two units (12 points) must be completed at each of second and third-year levels

(iv.) additional units from the Faculty in the Bachelor of Commerce at the Clayton campus to reach the required minimum of 24 units

(b.) a major of eight units from the Bachelor of Economics (48 points):*

  • the major must come from the approved list of economics majors above listed under 'Areas of study'
  • at least two units (12 points) must be completed at second-year level and two units (12 points) at third-year level

* Note: Depending on the major chosen, one or more of the units in the major may have already been studied as part of the group of common core units - where this is the case, students will complete additional unit/s as detailed below.

(c.) eight free electives** (48 points) which may be chosen:

  • to complete the eight-unit Philosophy and politics major listed under 'Areas of study'
  • from any Faculty of Business and Economics programs and campuses***
  • from disciplines offered by another faculty
  • to form minors or a major
  • from individual units.

** Note: Students must be able to meet any prerequisites for elective units.

*** Note: Enrolment in units at campuses other than the student's campus of enrolment is subject to there being spare capacity after students from that campus have enrolled.

Elective units can be identified using the browse units toolbrowse units tool ( in the current edition of the handbook. The level of the unit is indicated by the first number in the unit code; undergraduate units are those that commence with the numbers 1-3.

Majors and minors can be identified from the areas of study indexesareas of study indexes ( in the Handbook.

Students may select free elective units from any campus, but should be aware of the teaching location as this may require travel to another campus and have timetabling implications. Students may also select units offered in off-campus mode.

Additional degree requirements:

  • a maximum of 13 first-year-level units (78 points).
  • a minimum of eight third-year-level units (48 points), of which at least five (30 points) must be from those offered by the faculty at the Clayton campus
  • in addition to specific unit prerequisites, second -year level units require the successful completion of three first-year level units and third-year level units require the successful completion of two second-year level units.

Areas of study

Commerce majors

Economics majors

Recommended additional major

Students can also complete the following recommended additional major by using their 48 points of open electives:


Bachelor of Commerce
Bachelor of Economics