Skip to content | Change text size

print version

Monash University

Monash University Handbook 2010 Undergraduate - Area of Study

All areas of study information should be read in conjunction with the relevant course entry in the Handbook. The units listed for this area of study relate only to the 'Requirements' outlined in the Faculty of Information Technology component of any bachelors double degrees.

Managing facultyFaculty of Information Technology
Offered byCaulfield School of Information Technology
Course coordinatorDr Maria Indrawan


The systems development major provides students with the skills to develop computer-based systems focused on software development, computer technology and information systems. In this major students study computer programming, operating systems, software engineering practice, web based applications development, systems design and implementation, enterprise programming, database design and data mining. Graduates are prepared for careers in areas such as programming, systems analysis, network and database administration and web-based development.


To qualify for the award of Bachelor of Information Technology and Systems with a major in systems development, students must complete the course requirements outlined below.

Compulsory units

Level one
Level two
  • FIT2001 Systems analysis and design
  • FIT2002 Project management
  • FIT2024 Software engineering practice
  • FIT2027 Systems design and implementation
  • FIT2028 Web systems 2
  • FIT2034 Computer programming 2
  • FIT2065 Operating systems and the Unix environment
Level three
  • FIT3047 Industrial experience project (part 1)
  • FIT3048 Industrial experience project (part 2)
  • FIT3057 Enterprise programming
  • FIT3073 Data mining or FIT3126 Applications with C++
  • FIT3118 Database design and administration

Further Information Technology units

Students take six points of level three Information Technology units offered by the Faculty of Information Technology.

Elective units

Students complete 36 points of electives, of which no more than 24 points may be taken at level one; the remaining units must be at level two or three. These electives may be taken from within the Faculty of Information Technology or from any other faculty of Monash University.

Relevant Courses

  • 3334 Bachelor of Information Technology and Systems
  • 3906 Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Information Technology and Systems