Monash University

Postgraduate - Area of study

Students who commenced study in 2013 should refer to this area of study entry for direction on the requirments; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your area of study.

print version

Managing facultyFaculty of Information Technology
Offered byCaulfield School of Information Technology
Clayton School of Information Technology
Campus(es)Caulfield, Clayton


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.
  • Not all units may be available in any one year.


Software engineering is a core discipline transforming the results of the basic science of computing into large-scale working software systems. Its components include software analysis and design, software project management, quality assurance, validation and verification, advanced object-oriented programming, approaches for real-world systems and design patterns.

This specialisation equips students with knowledge of the processes, techniques and theory of software engineering. In addition to the foundational core of knowledge required for professional work in the area, they will also be exposed to advanced topics including web services and service oriented computing, grid computing and parallel computing.

Graduates of the specialisation will have a strong knowledge in advanced theoretical and practical software engineering issues. They will possess the skills in designing and developing large software systems in the real world.


To qualify for an award with a specialisation in software engineering, students complete the units outlined below:

  • FIT5030 Web services and service oriented computing
  • FIT5164 GRID computing
  • FIT5171 System validation and verification, quality and standards
  • FIT5174 Parallel and distributed systems

Contact details

Relevant courses

  • 2423 Postgraduate Certificate in Information Technology
  • 2411 Postgraduate Diploma in Information Technology
  • 3309 Master of Applied Information Technology
  • 2402 Master of Information Technology
  • 3348 Master of Information Technology Professional
  • 3349 Master of Information Technology (Honours)