Monash University

Honours - Area of study

Students who commenced study in 2013 should refer to this area of study entry for direction on the requirments; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your area of study.

print version

Managing facultyFaculty of Arts
Offered bySchool of English, Communications and Performance Studies


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.


Students are required to complete 48 points of study including a thesis, a compulsory coursework unit and one elective coursework unit. Students may also be required to attend a short methodology course.

The coursework units and the thesis topic are chosen in consultation with the film and television studies honours coordinator.



Students complete one of the following options:

  • ATS4230 ECPS honours thesis (24 points)
  • ATS4231 ECPS honours thesis A (12 points) and ATS4232 ECPS honours thesis B (12 points)

Coursework units

Students complete the following units:

Compulsory unit

  • ATS4002 Honours research methods seminar

Elective units

One of:

  • ATS4235 ECPS Selected topics in theory and practice
  • APG4279 Historical film theory and criticism
  • APG4280 Contemporary film theory and criticism
  • a maximum of 12 points at fourth-year level from another discipline and/or institution with the permission of the film and television studies honours coordinator.

Intending honours students

Students intending to enter honours in film and television studies must have completed a major in that discipline.

Contact details

Relevant courses

  • 0003 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts
  • 0082 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws