Monash University

Honours - Area of study

Students who commenced study in 2013 should refer to this area of study entry for direction on the requirments; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your area of study.

print version

Managing facultyFaculty of Arts
Offered byMonash Indigenous Centre
School of Applied Media and Social Sciences
Campus(es)Clayton, Gippsland


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.
  • The units available differ between campuses. Refer to the individual campus entries below. Also available via off-campus learning.


Students are required to complete 48 points of study comprising a thesis and two coursework units.

Coursework units and the thesis topic are chosen in consultation with the Australian Indigenous studies honours coordinator.



Offered by the Monash Indigenous Centre, School of Journalism, Australian and Indigenous Studies


Students complete one of the following options:

  • ATS4370 JAIS honours thesis (24 points)
  • ATS4371 JAIS honours thesis A (12 points) and ATS4372 JAIS honours thesis B (12 points)

Coursework units

Students complete two units as follows:

Compulsory unit:

  • ATS4375 JAIS honours research seminar

And one of the following units:

  • ATS4373 JAIS honours professional project
  • ATS4374 JAIS honours specialist seminar

Gippsland, Off-campus

Offered by the School of Applied Media and Social Sciences


Students complete the following two units:

Coursework units

Students complete the following two units:

  • ATS4685 Protocols and power in Indigenous studies
  • ATS4807 SAMSS selected topics in theory and practice

Contact details

Relevant courses

  • 0003 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts
  • 0082 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws
  • 4090 Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts and Social Sciences