[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home Monash Info News and Events Campuses and Faculties Monash University
Monash University Handbooks


Feminist Philosophers (6 points)


Leader: Karen Green

Clayton Second semester 2004 (Day)

Synopsis: The unit focuses on the work of various feminist philosophers writing within very different philosophical traditions, from Christine de Pizan (1365-1430), Margaret Cavendish (1623-73) and Mary Wollstonecraft (1759-1797) to Simone de Beauvoir (1908-1986) and Luce Irigaray (1930- ). The relationship of their philosophies to those of their male contemporaries will be discussed, as will the implications of their views for contemporary debates within feminism. www.arts.monash.edu.au/phil/undergraduate/

Assessment: Two essays (1750 words): 35 % each + Examination (1 hour): 30% + One essay may optionally be replaced by a one-hour examination

Contact Hours: 2 hours per week

Prerequisites: A first-year philosophy sequence or a 6 point Women's Studies unit

Help | Contacts | Site Map | Staff Directory | Search