<< >> ^

Monash Asia Institute

Monash Asia Institute (MAI) was established in 1988 as the Institute for Contemporary Asian Studies (ICAS) and was reorganised and renamed in 1991. The institute reflects the belief of Monash University in Asia's significance to Australia, and together with its seven centres, (of Development Studies, East Asian Studies, Japanese Studies, Malaysian Studies, South Asian Studies, Southeast Asian Studies, and the Asia Pacific Health Centre), exemplifies the university's commitment to the study of Asian countries, cultures and languages and to the growth of interaction between Asians and Australians in the fields of education, research, business and government. This commitment not only emphasises the burgeoning relationship between Australia and the countries of Asia, but also the continuation of an involvement which is as old as the university itself.

As well as a Bachelor of Arts (Asian Studies), two postgraduate programs are offered by Monash Asia Institute: the Graduate Diploma of Arts (Asian Studies) and the Master of Arts in Asian studies. Both are coursework programs, although the MA in Asian studies includes a research option in the form of a 75 per cent thesis in part II. These two programs are particularly designed for teachers, business people and general students who wish to deepen and broaden their knowledge of Asia.

Monash Asia Institute also publishes books, working papers, a newsletter and other research materials, including the Asian Studies Association of Australia Review, holds seminars and conferences, and facilitates student and other exchange programs with Asian universities.

<< >> ^
Handbook Contents | Faculty Handbooks | Monash University
Published by Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168
Copyright © Monash University 1996 - All Rights Reserved - Caution
Authorised by the Academic Registrar December 1996