Monash University

Postgraduate - Course

Students who commenced study in 2014 should refer to this course entry for direction on the requirements; to check which units are currently available for enrolment, refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your course.

print version

This course entry applies to students commencing this course in 2014 and should be read in conjunction with information provided in the 'Faculty information' section of this Handbook by the Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture

Managing facultyArt, Design and Architecture
Abbreviated titleMArc
CRICOS code059818D
Total credit points required96
Standard duration of study (years)2 years FT
Study mode and locationOn-campus (Caulfield)
Admission, fee and application details
Contact details

Telephone +61 3 9903 1517, email or visit

Course coordinator

Diego Ramirez-Lovering


  • Unit codes that are not linked to their entry in the Handbook are not available for study in the current year.
  • Full-time study only.


The Master of Architecture offers a coursework postgraduate program of education in the discipline of architecture and provides the second of two degrees required for professional registration. The academic program will focus on research-led architectural design teaching and learning through advanced studios and will culminate in a design research program in the second year of the course.


These course outcomes are aligned with the Australian Qualifications Framework level 9, the Bologna Cycle 2 and Monash Graduate AttributesAustralian Qualifications Framework level 9, the Bologna Cycle 2 and Monash Graduate Attributes (

Upon successful completion of this course it is expected that graduates will be able to:

  • acquire and apply the range of skills necessary to become a professional architect according to the National accreditation bodies
  • contribute to the built environment with responses sensitive to their environmental, technical, social and cultural contexts
  • critically assess international architectural discourses and practices and contribute to advancing design research

Professional recognition

Upon completion of the Master of Architecture, students will have achieved the Architect's Accreditation Council of Australia (ACCA) National Competency Standards applicable to university courses and will comply with the Royal Australian Institute of Architecture (RAIA) Education Policy Performance Criteria.


(a.) Architectural design studios (54 points)

This is the major area of study. There are design studios at each level of the course.

(b.) Technology (6 points)

This is delivered with the design studios and includes the integration of material, structural and environmental systems.

(c.) Theory and history (6 points)

This includes the research methods unit introducing students to the methods and tactics of architectural design research.

(d.) Professional studies (12 points)

These units focus on the core business and regulatory aspects of practice as an architect.

(e.) Electives (18 points)

Students select three 6-point electives from architecture-specific units or other units offered by the University.

Elective studies are selected in consultation with the course coordinator. Units will generally be taken from architecture-specific ARC-coded units available within the Faculty of Art, Design and ArchitectureFaculty of Art, Design and Architecture (, but units offered elsewhere in the University are also available.

Suitable units can be identified using the browse units toolbrowse units tool ( in the current edition of the Handbook. Note: Some units may require permission from the owning faculty. The level of the unit is indicated by the first number in the unit code; posgraduate units are those that commence with the numbers 4-5.

(f.) Occupational health and safety (0 points)

This is compulsory for all courses in the faculty and deals with issues relevant to art and design.


All units are 6 points unless otherwise indicated.

First year (48 points)

Semester one

  • ARC4001 Advanced architecture studio 1 (12 points)
  • ARC4201 Professional studies 1
  • OHS1000 Introduction to art and design health and safety (0 points) - if not previously completed
  • elective

Semester two

  • ARC4002 Advanced architecture studio 2 (12 points)
  • ARC4101 Technologies and environments 4
  • elective

Second year (48 points)

Semester one

  • ARC5001 Architecture design research studio (12 points)
  • ARC5201 Professional studies 2
  • ARC5401 Research methods

Semester two

  • ARC5002 Architecture design research projects (18 points)
  • elective

Progression to further studies

Students who complete the Master of Architecture Degree with H2A equivalence will be eligible to apply for course 1322 Doctor of Philosophy.


Master of Architecture