Skip to content | Change text size


Faculty information


Areas of study


Related information

Monash University

Monash University Handbook 2010

The Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences is a diverse and complex research and teaching organisation operating at campuses in Australia and overseas, and encompassing around 3000 staff.

The faculty comprises ten schools and is associated with a number of centres and institutes. The Monash Institute of Medical Research (MIMR) and the Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute (ARMI) are both integral parts of the Faculty The faculty is also integrated with research institutes including the Baker IDI Medical Research Institute (located at The Alfred), the Prince Henry's Institute for Medical Research (within the Monash Health Research Precinct), the Mental Health Research Institute, and the Macfarlane Burnet Institute for Medical Research and Public Health.

We also work closely with major teaching hospitals including Monash Medical Centre, The Alfred and Box Hill Hospital. In total, the faculty operates in 125 practices and 68 hospitals.

Chaired by the dean, the faculty board governs academic strategy and operations. The offices of the assistant deans (clinical) and hospital clinical deans coordinate teaching in the hospitals and other clinical settings. Heads of schools - in conjunction with heads of departments and directors of centres and institutes - provide academic leadership within their disciplines and are responsible for the management of staff and resources. In parallel, the faculty manager leads a  team of professional staff that perform administrative, support and educational research functions in support of the faculty’s objectives.